Volume 43, Issue 3 - March 2008

The 4th Annual 
BIG Book of Lists 
 

For the fourth year, USGlass magazine presents its Big Book of Lists, a ranking of the top industry companies. Below you’ll see an list of some of the top glazing contractors ordered by annual sales. The information was provided to USGlass by the companies listed and includes websites where you can find more information about the company. These contractors also each submitted a short description of the work they do, available in our special Only Online section of www.usglassmag.com.

On pages 39-41 you’ll find rankings of glass companies, from largest to smallest, in a variety of categories. Information was obtained through companies’ submissions and our editors’ independent field research. This year we’ve included a list of the top woman-owned glazing contractors. Read more about these noteworthy women here. To ensure your inclusion in next year’s Lists, e-mail mheadley@glass.com

 

Top Glazing Contractors Based on 2007 sales revenue of commercial glazing business segment

Company City, State Web Address President/CEO No. of Locations No. of Employees Years in Business
Harmon Inc. Eden Prairie, Minn. www.harmoninc.com — 18 1,100 12
Enclos Corp.  Eagan, Minn. www.enclos.com Gregg Sage 18 650 32
Permasteelisa Cladding Technologies Ltd. Windsor, Conn. www.permasteelisa.com Alberto De Gobbi 6 — 35
Walters & Wolf Fremont, Calif. www.waltersandwolf.com Randy Wolf 5 835 30
Trainor Glass Alsip, Ill. www.trainorglass.com Thomas Trainor/ Robert Trainor 14 534 55
W&W Glass LLC Nanuet, N.Y. www.wwglass.com Michael, Jeffrey, Howard and Scott Haber (co-managing members) 2 195 30
CBO Glass Alden, N.Y. www.cboglass.com Paul Hogan 2 300 35
Haley-Greer Inc. Dallas, Texas www.haleygreer.com Don Haley (CEO); Letitia Haley Barker (president) 3 260 29
Heinaman Contract Glazing Lake Forest, Calif. www.heinaman.net John Heinaman 2 130 20
TSI/Exterior Wall Systems Inc. Landover, Md. — Victor Cornellier 1 160 30
Karas and Karas Boston, Mass. www.karasglass.com Joseph Karas 1 118 84
ASI Ltd. Indianapolis, Ind. www.asilimited.com Ken W. Smith 1 265 19
Giroux Glass Inc. Los Angeles www.girouxglass.com Anne-Merelie Murrell 2 220 62
MTH Industries Hillside, Ill. www.mthindustries.com Lyle R. Hill 1 124 121
Juba Aluminum Products Co. Inc. Concord, N.C. www.jubaproducts.com John Juba (president); Joni Juba (CEO) 2 149 14+
Cartner Glass Systems Inc. Charlotte, N.C. — Lawrence A. Cartner 2 72 27
Glass Systems Inc. Lithonia, Ga. www.glasssystems.biz Luther Hudson 1 140 23
Architectural Wall Systems Co. West Des Moines, Iowa www.archwall.com Mike Cunningham (CEO); Tom Schlotfeldt (president) 1 125 16
Sunset Glazing La Mesa, Calif. www.sunsetglazing.com Don E. Witte 1 50-60 27
Tower Glass Inc. Santee, Calif. www.towerglass.com Evelyn Swaim (president) 1 125 19
MasonryArts Inc. Bessemer, Ala. www.masonryarts.com Roy Swindal 2 — 40+
Ridgeview Glass Inc. Marlboro, Md. www.ridgeviewglass.com Andy E. Canter Jr. 1 132 25
Arcadia Products Inc. Northbrook, Il. www.arcadiaproducts.net Robert L. Martin 1 80 27
Ajay Glass Manchester, N.Y. www.ajayglass.net Demetrios G. Stathopoulos (CEO), Steve Stathopoulos (president) 1 120 49
Sierra Glass & Mirror Inc. Las Vegas, Nev. www.sierraglass.com Robyn McGinnis 1 65 29
Interlcad Plymouth, Minn. www.eganco.com Bill John 1 65 10
Champion Metal & Glass Inc. Dear Park, N.Y. www.championmetalglass.com Ali Ghahremani 1 45 15
Galaxy Glass & Aluminum Inc. Manchester, N.H. www.galaxyglass.biz Daniel Simpson (co-owner, president), Mark Brown (co-owner, vice president) 2 85 16
R & R Window Contractors Inc. Easthampton, Mass. www.rrwindow.com Roger A. Fuller 1 80 30
Metropolitan Glass Inc. Denver, Colo. www.metroglass.com Michael Smith 1 106 44
Accuracy Glass & Mirror Co. Las Vegas, Nev. — Kelly Marshall (president), Michael Lamek (vice president) 1 97 20
Hilboldt Curtwainwall Inc. St. Louis, Mo. hilboldt.com Dennis Hilboldt (president); Jane Hilboldt (CEO) 1 22 3
American Glass and Metals Corp. Plymouth, Mich. — James D. Vogelsberg 1 65 28
Carter Glass Co. Inc. Kansas City, Mo. www.carterglass.net Terrence F. Carter (CEO), John Carter (president) 2 60-70 47
Lynbrook Glass & Architectural Metals Corp. Hauppauge, N.Y. www.lynbrookglass.com Joseph Torsiello 1 80 77
Glass & Mirror America Clarendon Hills, Ill. www.americanglassandmirror.com P. Hill, D. Lamantia, L. Ferrusi (directors) 3 86 42
Vienna Glass Co. Manassas, Va. www.viennaglass.com Richard Glaze 2 60 53
Modern Mirror and Glass Co. Inc. Roseville, Mich. modernglass.net Paula Zeoli 1 80 63
Sound Glass Sales Inc. Tacoma, Wash. www.soundglass.com Warren W. Willoughby 3 88 25
Hale Glass Inc. Placentia, Calif. www.haleglass.com Brian Hale Sr. (president), Gloria Hale (CFO) 1 55 29
United Glass and Panel Systems Inc. Canton, Ohio www.ugps.com Tom Nesbitt 1 50 12
Del Ray Glass Co. Alexandria, Va. www.delrayglass.com Mitchel Papanicolas 1 60 55
EAP Glass Inc. Golden, Colo. eapglass.net Edward A. Perme 1 65 25+
The Glass Shop Visalia, Calif. www.theglassshop.com Jeff Theis 1 63 30
Linford Contract Glazing LLC Salt Lake City — Earl J. Linford 1 57 8 months

Top Float Glass Producers
• PPG Industries Inc.
• Guardian Industries Corp.
• Pilkington North America Inc.
• AGC Flat Glass North America 
• Cardinal Glass Industries
• Vitro America
• Saint-Gobain

Top Tempered Glass Producers
• Oldcastle Glass
• Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc.
• AGC Flat Glass North America 
• PPG Industries Inc.
• Viracon
• United Glass Corp. 

Top Laminated Glass Producers
• Guardian Industries Corp.
• Oldcastle Glass
• Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc.
• Viracon
• AGC Flat Glass North America 
• Vitro America
• Hartung Glass Industries
• J.E. Berkowitz L.P. 
• Dlubak Corp. 
• Northwestern Industries
• Cristacurva

Top Low-E Glass Producers
• Cardinal Glass Industries
• AGC Flat Glass North America 
• PPG Industries Inc. 
• Pilkington North America Inc.
• Viracon
• Guardian Industries Corp.

Top Fire-Rated Glass Manufacturers
• SAFTI First Fire-Rated Glazing Solutions
• VETROTECH Saint-Gobain 

Architectural Metal Producers
• Kawneer, An Alcoa Co.
• YKK/AP America 
• Vistawall (a part of Oldcastle Glass)
• United States Aluminum 
• Tubelite Inc. (a part of Apogee Enterprises Inc.)
• Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc.
• EFCO, A Pella Co.
• TRACO 
• Accura Systems Inc. 
• Laminators Inc. 
• VETROTECH Saint-Gobain 
• FabTech LLC 
• Quality Metalcrafts LLC 

Curtainwall and Storefront/ Entrance Producers
• Kawneer, An Alcoa Co.
• Vistawall (a part of Oldcastle Glass)
• YKK/AP America
• United States Aluminum 
• EFCO, A Pella Co. 
• Tubelite Inc. (a part of Apogee Enterprises Inc.)
• Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc.
• TRACO 
• Wausau Window & Wall Systems 
• Accura Systems Inc. 
• Architectural Glazing Technologies 
• PORTAL Inc./National Store Fronts Co. 
• Laminators Inc. 
• FabTech LLC

Top Fire-Rated Distributors
• Technical Glass Products
• General Glass International
• Oldcastle Glass
• Hartung Glass Industries 
• Prelco Inc.
• Coastal Glass Distributors 

Top Woman-Owned Glazing Contractors
• Haley-Greer Letitia Haley Barker (President)
• Giroux Glass Anne-Merelie Murrell (President/CEO)
• Juba Aluminum Products Co. Inc. Joni Juba (CEO)
• Tower Glass Inc. Evelyn Swaim (President)
• Sierra Glass & Mirror Robyn McGinnis (President/CEO)
• Hilboldt Curtainwall Inc. Jane Hilboldt (CEO)
• Modern Mirror and Glass Co. Inc. Paula Zeoli (President/CEO)

For an in depth feature on the industry's noteworthy women, CLICK HERE.

Top Door and Window Hardware Distributors 
• Mayflower Sales Co. Inc.
• JLM Wholesale 
• Strybuc Industries 
• International Door Closers 
• Calibre Door Closers 

Top Mirror Producers
• Arch Aluminum & Glass Co. Inc.
• Guardian Industries Corp.
• Vitro America
• Virginia Glass Products
• Gardner Glass Products
• Walker Glass Co. Ltd.

Oldest Companies in the Industry
• Saint-Gobain - 343
• DuPont – 205
• Pilkington North America Inc. – 182
• Fletcher-Terry – 139
• Showerite – 137
• Kohler – 135
• F. Barkow Inc. – 129
• Barber Glass Industries Inc. – 125
• PPG Industries Inc. – 125
• MTH Industries - 122
• Goldfinch Bros. Inc. – 116
• Thad Ziegler Glass – 115
• General Glass International – 108
• Peterson Glass Co. – 105
• Kawneer Co. Inc. – 102
• Toledo Mirror & Glass – 99
• Syracuse Glass – 99
• Lenoir Mirror Co. – 95
• J.E. Berkowitz L.P. – 88
• DeGorter Inc. – 86
• Karas & Karas – 84
• Flower City Glass - 81
• Knickerbocker Plate Glass – 81
• Tremco – 80
• Colonial Glass Solutions – 79
• Bacon & Van Buskirk – 71
• Walker Glass Co. Ltd. - 66 
• Modern Mirror & Glass – 63
• Giroux Glass – 62

Top Shower Door Producers
• Kohler Co.
• Alumax Bath Enclosures
• Basco Shower Enclosures 
• Southeastern Aluminum Products
• Hartung Glass Industries
• Coral Industries
• Coastal Industries

Top Minority-Owned Companies
• Glass Designers Inc.
• U.S. Architectural Glass & Metal/GMS 

CLICK HERE for an expanded version of this article. 


USG
© Copyright 2008 Key Communications Inc. All rights reserved.
No reproduction of any type without expressed written permission.