Both ASTM International and the National Fenestration Rating Council (NFRC) recently presented awards to members of the glass, glazing and fenestration industry. These awards recognize contributions to the development of international standards and commitment to moving projects and priorities forward.

George Stern Award, ASTM International

Eastman Chemical global applications manager Julie Schimmelpenningh received George Stern Award from ASTM International Committee E06 on Performance of Buildings.

Eastman Chemical global applications manager Julie Schimmelpenningh received George Stern Award from ASTM International Committee E06 on Performance of Buildings. Schimmelpenningh received the award during the 75th anniversary of E06 during the New Orleans committee week.

“Without the support of my family and the commitment to the industry by Eastman, I would not have had even glimmer or a chance to have such an honor bestowed upon me,” says Schimmelpeningh. “For that, I am so very grateful.”


The NFRC also acknowledged four members during its annual fall membership meeting in San Diego.

2022 Dariush Arasteh Memorial Member of the Year

Robin Mitchell, of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory (LBNL), was named the Dariush Arasteh Memorial Member of the Year. This award recognizes the recipient’s talent, achievements and notable contributions that support the mission of NFRC within the last calendar year.

“During the past year, Robin’s involvement with NFRC has largely been behind the scenes, but very noticeable,” the NFRC said in a statement. “Robin has graciously provided a tremendous amount of her time, knowledge and effort by participating in the tasks for the Blinds-Between-Glass task group and work group, and as the point of contact for NFRC regarding the upgrades to WINDOW/THERM 7.8.”

2022 Emerging Leader

Sherri Wendt, of Quast Consulting and Testing, was named the 2022 Emerging Leader. This award recognizes an NFRC member who has taken on leadership roles and has been identified by members and staff as someone who demonstrates the potential to become an influential leader within the organization.

“Wendt has been extremely helpful leading both the Sidelite and Table 4-3 task groups, participated in the development of the NFRC 715 commercial document and assisted with the testing of WINDOW/THERM,” the NFRC said in a statement. “No matter the project, when involved, Sherri leads.”

2022 Board Service Awards

To honor the service of departing NFRC board members, the organization provides members with the Board Service Award. For 2022, Joe Hayden, of Pella, and Charlie Curcija, with LBNL, received the recognition.

This marks the end of Hayden’s second term on the board. He previously served from 2008-2010 as board chair, and then again from 2017-2022. In addition to being board chair, Hayden has served on the governance committee, the board accreditation work group and chaired the board audit committee. He currently serves as vice chair of the Accreditation Policy Committee, chairs the WINDOW/THERM Approval Task Group and chairs the NFRC Standards Committee.

Curcija has served on the board since 2017, participating in the board finance committee. He also currently serves as co-chair of the Solar Optical Perf Non-Planar Trans-System Task group, is a member of the Technical Interpretations Policy Committee (TIPC) and is chair of the Thermophysical Properties Subcommittee.

“If the health of an organization can be judged on the quality of its volunteers, NFRC is in top shape,” says John Gordon, NFRC board chair. “Congratulations to Sherri, Robin, Joe and Charlie. On behalf of the board and staff, thank you. I would also like to thank all of the volunteers doing work for the benefit of the entire industry and the people who rely on the certification that we all work to provide.”