In November 2013, the glass industry lost a dear friend, Greg Carney, who spent more than 30 years in the industry and served as the Glass Association of North America (GANA) technical director from 1999 to 2009. He was known as an enthusiastic, welcoming and remarkably knowledgeable leader.

To honor his memory, the C. Gregory Carney Member of the Year Award was created. It is meant to carry forward his spirit of commitment, collaboration and camaraderie while honoring other members who exemplify a similar enthusiasm and dedication to the industry.

Carney’s can-do attitude and willingness to “do” for the betterment of the industry is embodied in John Colapietro of Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope®, who was given this year’s award during the GANA Annual Conference last week. Colapietro has led committees, subcommittees and task groups, is chairing a division and has a willingness to roll up his sleeves to tackle any difficult project.

GANA also recognized a number of other individuals, including Guardian Industries’ Jay Phillips, who was given the Building Envelope Contractors award. Phillips was recognized primarily for his work in assisting to organize the BEC event with quality education for the contract glazier. He also served on the GANA board of directors, representing the BEC division, and is a past president.

Other Division Member of the Year Awards were as follows:

Decorative Division: Cathie Saroka of Goldray Industries;

Energy Division: Pete Anderson of Viracon;

Insulating Division: Rick Wright of Oldcastle BuildingEnvelope®;

Laminating Division: Valerie Block of Kuraray America; and

Tempering Division: Jeff Nixon of Glass Coatings & Concepts.