The Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance (FGIA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the inaugural FGIA Annual Conference Awards Banquet held Tuesday night in Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. Award presenters noted the importance of these member contributions, which serve to progress the work of the industry overall.

Glazing Outstanding Service Award

From left: Mike Burk, Helen Sanders and Randi Ernst

Mike Burk, North American technical representative for Sparklike, and Randi Ernst, president of FDR Design, were both awarded the Glazing Outstanding Service Award. The two were presented with their awards by Helen Sanders, strategic business development for Technoform.

The Glazing Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

“Anyone who has met Mike has witnessed his humor and generosity, and has been touched by his unfailing ability to lend a hand and put others first,” said Sanders. “He never just sits and watches. He is always lending a hand with the critical back-room equipment or helping carry out events.”

“No slouch in technical development himself, Randy has filed for patents for his inventions of a thermal conductivity sensor for analyzing the contents of sealed packages or insulating glass units, and a glass edge sealant curing system,” added Sanders. “He also founded his own company in 1988, providing insulating glass filling and testing equipment.”

Fenestration Outstanding Service Award

Mark Silverberg and Donnie Hunter

Mark Silverberg, president of Technoform North America, was awarded the Fenestration Outstanding Service Award. He was presented with his award by Donnie Hunter, director of global product management for Kawneer.

The Fenestration Outstanding Service Award is given to individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

“Mark has reached the peak of involvement as a member of the board of directors,” said Hunter. “On the board, he has worked to expand industry-wide participation in addressing issues surrounding windows and glazing.”

Architectural Distinguished Service Award

Robert Jutras and Carl Troiano

The Architectural Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carl Troiano, president of Trojan Powder Coatings, by previous award recipient Robert Jutras, principal engineer of building envelope performance for CLEB Laboratory.

This award is given to an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Council.

“Carl started in the industry while still in high school, signing up with his dad’s 1959-vintage patio furniture company,” said Jutras. “By 1990, he had reinvented the business to focus on coil coating. He is now president of the firm, which has since grown to encompass three locations.”

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award

Mark Mikkelson

The Residential Distinguished Service Award was presented to Mark Mikkelson, director of corporate regulatory affairs for Andersen Corp., by previous award recipient Mark Fortun, manager of code compliance for Endura Products Inc. Michelle Hunt accepted the award on Mikkelson’s behalf, as he was unable to attend.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Council is recognized with this distinction.

“Mark is your go-to guy for fast and accurate answers if you have any questions about local, state, national or international codes,” said Fortun. “He is well recognized for his leadership role, as well as his ability to collaborate with his colleagues throughout the fenestration industry and in the code development community.”

Marketing Distinguished Service Award

John Westerfield and Josh Wignall

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to John Westerfield, marketing, web development and code compliance officer for CrystaLite, by previous recipient Josh Wignall, director of marketing for EFCO Corp.

This award acknowledges a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

“John’s participation with [FGIA] reflects an important duality,” said Wignall. “He is effective in marketing, but he is also well-grounded in the technical details. Known for being a multitasker at his company, he creates and manages product literature and website development, but is also responsible for product testing and certification.”

Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award

David Cooper and Jeff Haberer

The Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award was presented to Jeff Haberer, technical manager for Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions, by Dave Cooper, principal at DJ Cooper Consulting.

“A pillar of our industry, Jeff leads our Technical Services Committee and has served as an Insulating Glass Manufacturers Alliance board member,” said Cooper. “He is dedicated to the work of our organization.”