The Fenestration and Glazing Industry Alliance (FGIA) recognized the contributions and achievements of its members and congratulated award winners at the Virtual Annual Awards Ceremony at the end of the first day of the conference on February 23. Awards were presented by the previous year’s award winners, who recognized recipients for their many efforts toward progressing the work of the association and the industry overall.

Outstanding Service Award – Joe Hayden (Pella Corporation)

Joe Hayden

The Outstanding Service Award was presented to Joe Hayden, principal engineer at Pella Corp., by previous award recipients Mike Burk, North American technical representative for Sparklike, and Randi Ernst, CEO of FDR Design.

The Outstanding Service Award recognizes individuals who have distinguished themselves in their work and dedication to the advancement of FGIA and the industry as a whole.

As an active member of more than 75 FGIA committees and task groups, Hayden’s involvement in several of these committees includes development of multiple standards. He also serves as president of the Western Region Board; first vice president of the Residential Products Council; chair of the Residential Technical Committee; and co-chair of the Education Steering Committee, NFRC/AERC Advisory Committee and Technical Steering Committee, as well as many other leadership positions within FGIA.

Architectural Distinguished Service Award – Ivan Zuniga (Kawneer Company)

Ivan Zuniga

The Architectural Distinguished Service Award was presented to Ivan Zuniga, product manager at Kawneer Co., by previous award recipient Carl Troiano, president of Trojan Powder Coatings.

This award recognizes an individual who accomplishes formative work on behalf of the association and the Architectural Products Council.

Zuniga has chaired the APC/RPC/GPC Acoustical Substitution Task Group, developing guidelines for the substitution of glass and frame types based on AAMA TIR-A1 and additional research data and co-chairs the NFRC/AERC Advisory Committee, developing FGIA positions on NFRC and AERC issues. He also serves as chair of the Sustainability Steering Committee, educating and advocating for fenestration and glass product-related sustainability and transparency-related issues.

Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award – Helen Sanders (Technoform)

Helen Sanders

The Glass Products Council Distinguished Service Award was presented to Dr. Helen Sanders, general manager, at Technoform North America and USGlass magazine contributor, by previous award recipient Jeff Haberer, director of technical services for Trulite Glass and Aluminum Solutions.

Sanders, a member of the FGIA board of directors, also serves as first vice president of the Glass Products Council and co-chair of both the Innovation Steering Committee and the Sustainability Steering Committee. She is also the chair of the Task Group for Processed Glass Product Category Rules (PCR) and is an important contributor to the Window PCR Task Group, a joint effort with other industry organizations. In addition, Sanders is co-chair of the Task Group on IG Edge Pressure, which is a research effort within the Glass Products Council.

Residential Products Group Distinguished Service Award – Todd Stratmoen (Larson Manufacturing Co.)

Todd Stratmoen

The Residential Distinguished Service Award was awarded to Todd Stratmoen, corporate engineering initiatives manager at Larson Manufacturing Co., by previous award recipient Mark Mikkelson, director, corporate regulatory affairs, for Andersen Corp.

Each year, a member who excels in work toward improving the association and the Residential Products Council is recognized with this distinction.

Active on many committees, Stratmoen shows passion and drive to make valuable contributions to projects like the efforts to update the North American Fenestration Standard (NAFS). He has played a key role in ensuring requirements for secondary storm products are updated within NAFS.

Marketing Distinguished Service Award – Carl Troiano (Trojan Powder Coating)

Carl Troiano

The Marketing Distinguished Service Award was presented to Carl Troiano, owner and president of Trojan Powder Coating, by previous recipient John Westerfield, web development and code compliance officer for CrystaLite.

This award acknowledges a single individual who has exhibited leadership and outstanding service in marketing activities for the association.

A member of the FGIA board of directors, Troiano has also served as a member of several task groups and committees over the years, notably serving as chair of the Aluminum Material Council Finishes Committee, which maintains and develops all aluminum finishes documents, and as a representative on the Finishes Steering Committee.

News, People