The Facade Tectonics Institute (FTI) announced that registration for its second biennial Vitruvian Honors and Awards Program will open mid-January 2023.

The awards program recognizes innovation and achievements in the field of facade design and delivery. The awards honor projects, project teams and individuals who have made “extraordinary contributions to facade design, engineering, fabrication, installation and lifecycle performance.”

FTI states that the program will launch on Jan. 16, 2023. The submission deadline is June 19, 2023. Finalists will be notified on July 17, 2023, and the ceremony will occur on Sept. 19, 2023, at the Center for Architecture in New York City.

The categories include:

Project Awards

  • Outstanding New Facade (low-rise, mid-rise, high-rise)
  • Outstanding Facade Renovation
  • Outstanding Facade Heritage Conservation
  • Outstanding Facade Innovation
  • Outstanding Facade Integration
  • Outstanding Unbuilt Facade
  • Outstanding Facade Research

People Awards

  • Collaborative Achievement
  • Unsung Hero
  • Emerging Professional

To be eligible to participate in the program, projects must have been completed in the past five years and have “been functioning and occupied for at least one calendar year,” says the FTI. The organization adds that all members of the project team-owner, architect, key consultants, contractors, fabricators, and material and systems suppliers-must be credited. Judges included in a nomination will be recused from judging the submission.

The 2023 judges are Achilles Ahimbisibwe, of Uganda Martyrs University; Karen Brandt, of Heintges; Rowan Georges, of SOM; Julia Gersovitz, of McGill University and EVOQ Architecture; Paula Lavarello, of Zas Lavarello & Asociados; Kelly Sutherlin McLeod, of Kelly Sutherlin McLeod Architecture; and Ulrich Knaack, of TU Delft.