k-Space Associates Inc. recently announced that its co-founder and University of Michigan physics professor, Roy Clarke, was named an AAAS Fellow by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Clarke received the honor for his contributions to the role of interfaces in thin films and quantum nanostructures, and for his entrepreneurship, which has resulted in “several recent inventions and tech transfers,” according to k-Space. He joins the ranks of other AAAS Fellows including Thomas Edison, W.E.B. DuBois, astronaut Ellen Ochoa, and computing pioneer Grace Hopper.

“This is a well-deserved honor. Roy has been a leader in scientific entrepreneurship, tech transfer and in expanding the ranks of applied physics to include more minorities and females,” said Darryl Barlett, k-Space CEO and co-founder.

Clarke is the Marcellus L. Wiedenbeck Collegiate Professor, University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor, and professor of physics at the University of Michigan. In 2010, he received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring from President Obama.

The AAAS has elected Fellows based on their “extraordinary achievements” since 1874. At the AAAS Annual Meeting, Fellows are presented with a certificate and a blue and gold rosette.